Big Lakes County

Big Lakes County is Seeking Members At-Large

Annually the Council for the Big Lakes County seeks interest from individuals to be part of various boards and committees to serve our public. Council seeks individuals with interest and expertise in the following areas:

Intermunicipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board

1 member at-large (two (2) year term)

The Intermunicipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board consists of a total of 12 members from Big Lakes County, and the Towns of High Prairie and Swan Hills.  Each member municipality appoints three (3) members at large.  Members of the ISDAB meet in panels of at least three (3) members.

The Appeal Board hears and renders decisions on subdivision and development permit appeals.  Appeals which are impacted by provincial policy go directly to the Alberta Municipal Government Board.  Please note that Appeal Board members cannot be members of the Municipal Planning Commission. 

Time Commitment: There is a mandatory training session required prior to taking part in an appeal hearing. Hearings are held as required.  To date these appeals have been infrequent.

Apply Now

Please forward applications to:

Jessica Plante, Executive Assistant

Big Lakes County

P.O. Box 239

High Prairie, Alberta T0G 1E0

Fax:  780-523-4227


We want to hear from you! Do you have time to take our 2 minute website satisfaction survey?