Seeking Members at Large for Municipal Boards/Committees


Member At-Large Appointments


Annually the Council for the Big Lakes County seeks interest from individuals to be part of various boards and committees to serve our public. Council seeks individuals with interest and expertise in the following areas:


Agricultural Service Board - 4 members at-large

The Agricultural Service Board consists of three (3) members of Council and four (4) at-large members. From a cross section of the agricultural community and with geographically diverse areas of our municipality, this board assists council in setting policies and programs with regard to their legislative responsibilities in the following areas:

  • weed and pest control
  • soil and water conservation programs
  • control of livestock diseases
  • proper land utilization
  • agricultural equipment rental
  • demonstrations and test plotting


Intermunicipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board - 3 members at-large (two (2) year term)

The Intermunicipal Subdivision and Development Appeal Board consists of a total of 12 members from Big Lakes County, and the Towns of High Prairie and Swan Hills.  Each member municipality appoints three (3) members at large.  Members of the ISDAB meet in panels of at least three (3) members.

The Appeal Board hears and renders decisions on subdivision and development permit appeals.  Appeals which are impacted by provincial policy go directly to the Alberta Municipal Government Board.  Please note that Appeal Board members cannot be members of the Municipal Planning Commission. 

Time Commitment: There is a mandatory training session required prior to taking part in an appeal hearing. Hearings are held as required.  To date these appeals have been infrequent.


Big Lakes County Library Board - 1 member at-large

The Big Lakes County Library Board is a seven-member board consisting of two (2) Councillors, one (1) staff and four (4) at-large. The Board functions as a separate corporation under the Libraries Act and delivers library services by contributing to Kinuso Municipal Library.

Time Commitment: Approximately four times per year on an ad hoc basis with late afternoon meetings. Please be advised the appointments will be made as follows:

  • 1 member – 1-year term
  • 1 member – 2-year term
  • 2 members – 3-year term


Assessment Review Board - 2 members at-large

As a Board or Committee representative, members will assist in municipal operations through research and decision making on current issues. The Assessment Review Board hears and deals with complaints about property assessment that has been received by Big Lakes County. This Board consists of a pool of trained candidates, which convenes an annual panel of no more than three (3) members, of which no more than one may be an elected official. 

Time commitment: Mandatory multi-day training session required as prescribed by the Government of Alberta, prior to participating in a Board hearing. Meetings are infrequent.


High Prairie Regional Airport Advisory Committee  - 1 members at-large

The High Prairie Regional Airport Advisory Committee consists of two (2) Big Lakes County Councillors, two (2) Town of High Prairie Councillors, one (1) Big Lakes County at-large members. The High Prairie Regional Airport Advisory Committee will:

  • Advise the airport manager and CAO’s on operational matters
  • Advise Council’s on recommended capital requirements
  • Advise Council’s and CAO’s on recommended future development and operational opportunities for the betterment of the region


F.C.S.S. Advisory Committee  - 1 members at-large

The F.C.S.S. Advisory Committee consists of two (2) members of Council, two (2) members from High Prairie Town Council and one (1) at- large member. The purpose of the Family and Community Support Services (FCSS) Advisory Committee is to:

  • Oversee the development and operation of the Big Lakes County FCSS program
  • Act in an advisory capacity to the Big Lakes County Director of Planning and Development and to the FCSS Manager
  • Make recommendations to the Big Lakes County Council regarding the operations of the FCSS program
  • Ensure FCSS Act and regulations are adhered to.


** Appointments will be made during the organizational meeting of Council scheduled for Tuesday, October 26, 2021 @ 10:00 a.m.


** Applications can be found here or at the administration office in High Prairie or Kinuso.


Please forward applications by

4:00 p.m. on Friday, October 15, 2021 to:


Jessica Plante, Executive Assistant

Big Lakes County

P.O. Box 239

High Prairie, Alberta T0G 1E0

Fax:  780-523-4227

Email:  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.